Paul Wishes Himself Accursed from Christ

Brethren Lipscomb and Sewell: As I want all the information I can get on the Bible, please explain the following passage of scripture: “For I could wish that myself were accursed from Christ for my brethren, my kinsmen according to the flesh.” (Rom. 9: 3.)

As an exposition of this passage, we will insert the first three verses of this chapter as rendered in “The Living Oracles,” which we regard as the plainest rendering we have ever met with: “I speak the truth in Christ, I do not speak falsely, my conscience bearing me witness, in the Holy Spirit, that I have great grief, and unceasing anguish in my heart, for my brethren; my kinsmen, according to the flesh; (for I also was, myself, wishing to be accursed from Christ).” Paul had reference to his past course of life, before he became a Christian, while he was persecuting the church.

Leave a comment